Travel series: New England edition

I am writing this post on a train from Boston to New Haven. Think I’m in Rhode Island at the moment. World traveler, that’s me!

Anyway, the first half of the trip was business so there wasn’t a ton of time for sightseeing – but we made a point of getting enough good dinners in.

Our first plan on Day One was to go to a seafood place. With an hour wait that didn’t quite work out, so we wandered till finding ourselves in the Little Italy area. I can’t remember the name of the place where we ended up, but it was amazing. Tiny little restaurant, barely bigger than my hotel room. Shared tables. Some pretty authentic dishes. Very great service. When our waitress told us the specials we were like those cartoon animals whose eyes pop out of their heads.

First we shared an appetizer of fried zucchini blossoms. Oh man those are the best. The batter was heavier than I’m used to, but then I haven’t had them in years. Anyway: amazeballs.

20120628-110127.jpg

Then, just to make sure I was in heaven, I got to eat this pasta with scallops:

20120628-110449.jpg

If I can remember the name of the restaurant, I will edit this post to add it. The place really deserves the kudos. All the rich food is getting a bit much for my formerly strong constitution…but it’s so worth it.

By the time I finished writing, my train has hit Connecticut. More posts to come! And several more days of overeating ahead, I predict. Clearly it is a psychic gift.

About Pippi Longstomach

In my home all hungry times are one o'clock. -C.S. Lewis
This entry was posted in Italian, Pasta, Seafood, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

