A Travel Post

So this week I went to St. Louis. While it was for business, there was fortunately enough free time to try at least a tiny bit of the food the city has to offer!

One night I ate at a restaurant called Niche. It was dark enough that the photos didn’t really turn out, but I’ll paste descriptions:

1. “Beet Soup: buttermilk, chives, dill, mint, tarragon, cucumber”
2. “Summer Vegetable Tartine Duo: leek, onions, ricotta, beets, oranges, herbs, walnuts”

1. was cold soup, which I should have expected, and the beet part was a sorbet in the middle of the rest that had to be stirred in, which I can’t see how I could have predicted. It was quite good, but honestly was better the less the beets had mixed in. 2. was…just weird. It was basically two long crackers with ricotta on each, one topped with sauteed leeks and onions and the other with beets, oranges, and mint. They were…weird…good, but weird. The beet/orange/mint bit was a new and unexpectedly delicious combination of flavors.

Another night, I went with a smaller group to Top of the Riverfront – a rotating restaurant in the Millennium Hotel, which had been recommended. As I’d never eaten while slowly revolving in a circle 14 or so stories in the air, this was an adventure! Here, the photography was more successful. Here’s the eats:

“Slow Roasted Tomato Tart: fresh buffalo mozzarella, arugula, pesto, black and white balsamic vinaigrette”

Do these tomatoes look roasted (slow or otherwise) to you?

I’ll give them one thing. The tart shell at the bottom had gone into an oven, so strictly speaking they didn’t lie. Other than the description being, if not a total crock, at least half a crock, this wasn’t bad. You can’t compare to Jersey tomatoes and it’s not like I don’t make something very similar at least once a week at home, so once I prepared to be disappointed I ended up being pleasantly surprised. The two vinegars were good.

Then I got a seafood pasta. Holy cream sauce, Batman! I must be getting too old for this kind of food. I think I have to turn in my fatty card, because while this was good, it ended up being far too heavy, and I was sick that night and the entire next day.

They had to milk an entire cow to make this sauce.

All in all, I’d like to see more of St. Louis. It seemed like a pretty cool city, with the look of a big city but the crowd of a suburb, and there’s a lot of history there. I’m sure I could eat my way through all of that too.

Next up: a wine bar makes a big hit on snacks. Coming attractions: Michigan.

About Pippi Longstomach

In my home all hungry times are one o'clock. -C.S. Lewis
This entry was posted in American, Seafood, Travel, Vegetarian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

