Weird food

There’s an organic food store in town and it’s been interesting testing out new things to expand my vegetarian  diet. Tonight I tried something new: an edamame burger. Per their recommendation at the store, I covered it in panko. Then I grilled it on the Foreman grill. (Condo living does have its few, small drawbacks -lack of backyard grilling is one of them.)

It never gets cooked to firmness like a real burger (can you tell I am phrasing that very carefully to avoid that’s-what-she-said jokes?), but it is not soft in a bad way. The burger is very filling, and has a tanginess that, while good, isn’t quite  flavorful enough to eat on its own. Topped with avocado, tomato, and ranch, though – it was quite tasty.

Here’s what it looked like after I’d housed half of it down:

Yeah, yeah, weird food. But it's delicious! And varied!

I also grilled some zucchini on the Foreman, which turned out well, but that’s not weird, now is it?

About Pippi Longstomach

In my home all hungry times are one o'clock. -C.S. Lewis
This entry was posted in Burgers, Vegetarian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

