Brunch!

This morning I got together with a really nice group of girls for brunch. We went to Tortilla Press in Collingswood. They have a lot of vegetarian lunch specials – and I really enjoyed their food when I was there years ago – so I keep meaning to choose that one Friday. However their lunch is, the brunch turned out quite nice.

First they had tortilla chips that were more like pastry, with cinnamon and sugar, and some sort of yogurt dipping sauce. It was an intense effort not to gorge myself just on those.

I ordered huevos rancheros. They looked absolutely beautiful. The black beans especially were delicious. The huevos themselves were OK – not the best I’ve ever had (or the most cooked), but still good. The sauce was very tasty and the green tortilla strips stood out also.

Doesn't this look so pretty?!

Their brunch is quite affordable and on a beautiful day like today, they had all the full-length windows open so it was like eating outside without the risk of sunburn.

The only real negative was that our waitress seemed like she hated life. I hope she doesn’t! Then again, I might hate life too if I had to work in a restaurant on such a beautiful summer morning. We’ll put it on the lunch list for sure.

About Pippi Longstomach

In my home all hungry times are one o'clock. -C.S. Lewis
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Vegetarian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

