Summer!

For a lazy, quasi-vegetarian who loves cheese but doesn’t always care about getting that much protein, summer makes for some perfect, yet rather strange meals. To wit, tonight I ate:

  • One half of a cucumber, slices dipped in ranch
  • The last of the fresh spring peas, just boiled until cooked and served with mint I picked from the plant on my balcony and organic butter from the local Amish market  (it is bright, bright yellow!)
  • Caprese salad made with half of a Jersey tomato, fresh mozzarella, and basil from my balcony
  • Handfuls of red, purple, and black raspberries from the pick-your-own farm down the street (I went today! It was fun!)

It made me seriously happy. I’m not a snob, really, I’m not. I just love to eat, and living amongst farms can really be amazing. The farm markets are convenient and cheap and the produce tastes great. Peas are out (booo) but corn is in, tomatoes are in, cucumbers and green beans and zucchini and berries are in and we just got the first peaches. And a whole host of other things besides. Let no one forget that we live in the Garden State, so knock off those industrial park jokes. Sometimes I just love it here so much.

PS – Sorry for no pics in this one. I have plenty but just wanted to crank out an update before I get too distracted and leave this blog to sit for another month.

About Pippi Longstomach

In my home all hungry times are one o'clock. -C.S. Lewis
This entry was posted in Vegetarian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

