It’s not easy being green…unless you’re an avocado.

No matter what the weather is, I know the warm season is here when I start to crave avocados. There are some days when that’s the only thing I want for dinner, and it’s all I can think about until I get it. Perhaps it fills some deep nutritional need of mine. I’m OK with that. Not only are they good for my hair, they are also delicious. (And their name comes from a word that means “testicle,” so they also satisfy the 12-year-old in me. The testicle fruit!) In all seriousness, they are one of the world’s perfect foods. They’ve got some of everything. Freshness, creaminess, umami, go well with sour things, or just salt. Can also be sweet, apparently. I would love to try this avocado smoothie from the menu at the pho place that started this all, just to try it.

I love to chop one up with a tomato and toss with olive oil, cumin, salt, and lime juice or white vinegar. Dinner!

Here are things I’ve done with the avocados I bought over the past week:

Colors!

Avocado, grapefruit, and red onion salad, with honey-lime dressing. This was good. The grapefruit provided a really different contrast to the avocado.

Best sammich ever.

Avocado sandwich on pita with spicy hummus. OMG party in my belly. The leftover avocado from this I ate plain with salt.

Writing this post is making me hungry for another one, but alas! I’m out.

About Pippi Longstomach

In my home all hungry times are one o'clock. -C.S. Lewis
This entry was posted in Vegetarian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

