Waiter, there’s a head in my soup!

This Friday, we hit up a Korean place on McGrubbin’s recommendation. I’ve wanted to try Korean food for years but have never gotten around to it.

Well, now I have, and still have no idea what I ate, but it was delicious!

There were a ton of plates of tiny little appetizers, all amazing. Some with liquid that felt like pure hot sauce when it hit your throat before you swallow the food. You smile through the tears that hit your eyes because it’s so good.

Tiny Kingdom of Appetizers

We tried a kimchi pancake. Yum.

Fried and full of veggies. Mmmmm.

I had heard Korean cuisine was meat-heavy, but didn’t realize just how much! It was hard to find something on the menu that didn’t have beef or pork, but I opted for a spicy seafood soup. I told them spicy was OK, but I think they still toned it down for me – it wasn’t hot at all, but very flavorful. (Guess I look like a fairly milquetoast white girl. Which, other than my food preferences, I suppose I am.)

It was so good. A giant bowl filled with mile-long noodles, broth, vegetables, peppers, mussels, calamari, shrimp, and maybe some other seafood I didn’t notice. Very slurpy. Very delicious. They left the shells on the shrimp, and through being cooked the shells must have softened. At one point, a little unattached shrimp head came bobbing up to the surface alongside my spoon! Eyes and all. Bit of a surprise! But I took it in my stride – at least I can say I didn’t live in Italy for nothing.

Sweet rice water – I think – was brought out afterward.

Who knew drinking rice could be so good?

By mid-afternoon I realized that the little appetizer I thought was tofu had probably been chicken or some other type of meat. Hello, intestinal cramping, my old friend. Nonetheless, I’m no worse for wear by Sunday and will always have good memories of that place.

About Pippi Longstomach

In my home all hungry times are one o'clock. -C.S. Lewis
This entry was posted in Asian, Korean, Seafood. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

