Somebody pass me the Pepto…

So tomorrow is my birthday. To be honest, I’m not thrilled about it. I’m not a fan of birthdays and would be perfectly happy to just ignore it. But my family is an out to dinner celebration type of family and as such, we went to dinner Thursday night while my grandma was in town. I chose Casona, a Cuban restaurant in Collingswood, which I’ve been to a few times and always enjoyed.

The restaurant is in an old house with a great atmosphere, which also means you get crappy pictures due to low lighting. I’ll channel Anne Shirley here and hope you have the scope for imagination to think what they looked like in real life.

Appetizers included:

Yuca frita (fries), with garlic sauce and guacamole

Guacamole, with both tortilla and plantain chips. As a side note, those arms are my dad and brother.

The menu had a lot of meat but also plenty of veggie and seafood options. I decided I’d go with the “Cuban Vegetarian.” Here it is:

More yucca fries! Fried plantains! And some other fried things! Beans and rice! All good, but oh man was it fried to high heaven. Truthfully I was expecting more things in sauces like the meats are. I confess I don’t often eat fried things anymore, and I certainly did pay for this meal in heartburn. But it was all very, very tasty.

A slight digression: My dad is truly awesome, and I mean that. I am going to tell a story about him here and hope he doesn’t get offended. (Hi Dad! If you’re reading this, I love you to pieces! Really!) So he is in many ways a plain food kind of guy. He does like spicy food and has expanded his horizons significantly over the past few years. BUT he does not really do “exotic” that much. He ordered beef empanadas and kept forgetting how to pronounce it. It was like Uncle Vernon and the dementors in Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix: What is an empamana? I’ll have the empasadas. These empamadas are pretty good! This also leads him to order things he knows in case he doesn’t like something new. He found his chicken fajitas just OK. Was I a bad daughter to laugh and tell him no wonder, he was ordering Tex-Mex at a Cuban restaurant and he should have tried the ropa vieja like I said? (Dad, you’re the best. I kid because I love.)

So I’ve got birthday meals, birthday cake, out to dinner Friday, and regular Friday lunch. Time for several days of vegetable broth in a mug, methinks.

About Pippi Longstomach

In my home all hungry times are one o'clock. -C.S. Lewis
This entry was posted in Cuban, Dinner, Holiday, Vegetarian. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Somebody pass me the Pepto…

  1. McGrubbin says:

    yeah, I’d say you need a detox! haha Happy Un-Birthday 😉

  2. Pingback: Casona | When Hungry Met Fatty

Leave a Reply

