On Sushi

One of the reasons I haven’t made the transition into full-on vegetarian yet is sushi. I get sushi cravings regularly. When this happens, I need to drop everything and go get some for lunch right away.

My point, you ask? Well, in the past two or three weeks I’ve been to three different sushi restaurants. Being the indecisive creature I am, I got the same thing at all three. Spicy tuna roll and Pacific roll all the way, baby!

So, a comparison:

1. Sakura – Went there with my partners in crime. You’ve seen their pictures. Easily the best.

2. Mikado – McG and I had a simultaneous sushi craving. Love the new décor. The vegetable gyoza were great (though I’m kind of afraid they might have had meat). But the sushi…was just OK. The spicy tuna roll was a little squishy and sometimes almost had a hint of canned-tuna flavor.

Hard to go wrong with fried dumplings.

3. Mandarin Oriental – Went on Sunday with my oldest friend. A very close second to Sakura. Tried my first seaweed salad and loved it. Points for presentation.

If you told me I'd eat seaweed as a kid, I'd have decked you.

Can you tell it was really dark in there?

I’d say any of these places is worth checking out. Just skip the spicy tuna at Mikado.

About Pippi Longstomach

In my home all hungry times are one o'clock. -C.S. Lewis
This entry was posted in Asian, Sushi. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment