Quest for Vegetarian Place…Not a Success

So let me preface this by saying I don’t love my name on here. But my buddies seem to think I’m a master of puns, so I’ll let it stand for now. I did come up with the blog name, didn’t I? Maybe they’re right after all.

OK, now that that’s out of the way, I can begin.

Having spent the past 10 or 11 months easing my way into vegetarianism (still currently stuck in pescetarian land), I am always hoping to find more meatless options around here. To my great surprise, the local (kosher) bagel place advertised that there was a vegetarian restaurant nearby, participating in some event! How awesome is that? How exciting! Cue the trumpets! I insisted we go there today so I could eat my fill of delicious vegetarian food.

Here is the restaurant:

Come on in!

Closed for renovation. Not quite an epic fail, but perhaps a stanza’s worth. How’s that charity month going, guys?

So we made a dress out of the curtains and went to the Thai place three doors down. I’ve seen it there for ages, ever since the sign that used to say “Twelve Great Tastes.” I always wondered what the twelve were, exactly. That sign has been replaced, but I hope they kept it for the kitsch factor.

Anyway, ever have one of your mistakes turn into magic? This was one of them. To wit: Thai iced tea. I have not had Thai iced tea in years, and despite Inigo’s ridiculous concerns, it is amazing stuff. Strong tea flavor + sugar + condensed milk = liquid gold.

We shared an appetizer of fried tofu, the consistency of very soft scrambled eggs. Odd, but the dipping sauce was spicy and delicious.

I got the vegetarian version of Pad See-Ew, flat noodles in a brown sauce with Chinese broccoli and egg – a dish that always reminds me of college. All I can say is OM NOM NOM. I’d describe it, but I think you should go get some and eat it instead. Go. Now.

About Pippi Longstomach

In my home all hungry times are one o'clock. -C.S. Lewis
This entry was posted in Lunch, Thai, Vegetarian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

